Attorney Matthew G. Kaestner

Long Beach's Criminal Law Specialist

Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Platinum is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 10 reviews, with an average score of 4.5 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.8/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (35)

Showing 3-star reviews and above
Our reviews are compiled from our profiles on the legal directories Lawyers.com and Avvo.com.

Source Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2021-07-27

Matt was extremely helpful in getting an old case off my back that has been following me for years. I live in another state and he made appearances for me, was able to get online classes accepted and is now going to be helping me get my record expunged. he is extremely experienced, knowledgeable and straight forward. He is worth every dime!

— Client 07/27/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-07-19 11:06:21

Matt is an exceptional attorney.

— Peer 07/19/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-01-25

Matt got an excellent result in my case. He got my felony case dismissed! Nothing on my record, no jail, no probation. He kept me informed of things along the way and did an excellent job advocating for me. I would highly recommend Matt Kaestner to anyone facing criminal charges.

— Client 01/25/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-01-06

Matt is certainly one of the finest lawyers I have known. His knowledge of the courts and judicial system is reflected in the great results he gets for his clients everyday. His compassion and caring for his clients ensure he will get the job done well. He is the lawyerly to whom I refer my clients in LA. Warren Fitzgerald Past President Massachusetts Bar Association Past President Massachusetts Academy of Trial Lawyers

— Client 01/06/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16

I met attorney Matt Kaestner in January of 2000. I had just been arrested and charged with murder. The first thing Mr. Kaestner said when he introduced himself was that he had some good news and some bad news. He said the bad news was that I was being charged with murder. He said the good news was that he was my lawyer. I was in shock and didn’t know what to think. I was looking at life. Two of my friends had just been convicted of the murder and now I was being charged as an accessory. I quickly learned that Mr. Kaestner was the lawyer I wanted to defend me. Mr. Kaestner aggressively pursued every avenue to prove that I was innocent. He conducted a lot of the investigation personally and used private investigators as well. Although the case was being prosecuted as a gang case, Mr. Kaestner treated me with respect. He was always straight up with me. He dug up so much information that I was being framed by the prosecutor’s witness, that he got the D.A. to offer me a misdemeanor and time served on the day of trial. Later he used the information he developed defending me to get my friend’s conviction thrown out and case dismissed. In the last 20 years Mr. Kaestner has defended me and I have referred him to anyone I knew that needed a criminal lawyer. He has continued to deliver great results again and again. If I ever needed a criminal defense lawyer again, I wouldn’t want anyone other than Matt Kaestner.

— Client 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2019-03-10

My brother, Joey has hired Matt Kaestner to defend him two separate times being charged with assault. I watched Matt in action in the court room during both jury trials and was pretty darn impressed. This guy is smart, organized, determined and an absolute AWESOME attorney. TWICE the jury came back with NOT GUILTY verdicts for my brother. If you are ever in trouble and need an excellent criminal defense attorney, Matt is brilliant! Two thumbs WAY UP!!

— Client 03/10/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-28

For 32 years I worked with numerous Attorneys. After Matthew Kaestner's efforts in defending a relative I would rate him at the top! There was never any doubt during the process that he was giving his all. His legal ability was obvious and he was respected by the Prosecuting Attorney as well as other court members. The end result was above all expectations. (3 felonies, two of them strikes, settled for a misdemeanor.) If you or a loved one need a first class Attorney protecting you in court

— Client 11/28/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-28

For 32 years I worked with numerous Attorneys. After Matthew Kaestner's efforts in defending a relative I would rate him at the top! There was never any doubt during the process that he was giving his all. His legal ability was obvious and he was respected by the Prosecuting Attorney as well as other court members. The end result was above all expectations. (3 felonies, two of them strikes, settled for a misdemeanor.) If you or a loved one need a first class Attorney protecting you in court on a serious criminal case, I highly recommend Mr. Kaestner!

— Client 11/28/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-11-27

Attorney Kaestner helped get a 23 year old felony conviction set aside and then dismissed completely. Mr. Kaestner was able to do what I thought might be impossible. I had sought the help of two other lawyers who were unable to get it done. Mr. Kaestner told me that it was a long shot, but he wrote an excellent motion and then kept the heat on the D.A. and Judge by repeated court appearances. He wouldn’t take no for an answer. What Mr. Kaestner did is the best thing that has ever happened to me. He has truly changed my life. I could not give any professional a higher recommendation. Thank you Mr. Kaestner

— Client 11/27/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-03-31

I first met attorney Matthew Kaestner when he defended my brother on a murder charge in 2000. Through hard work and excellent lawyering, he ended up proving my brother wasn't involved. My brother was freed. Over the last eighteen years I have referred several people to him. They have all been very happy with his services. He was able to get the wrongful murder conviction of another young man in Long Beach overturned. When I recently needed some help on a non-criminal matter, he immediately stepped up and helped. Thank you for all your help and always being there to answer my questions!

— Client 03/31/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-11 11:57:53

Strong and determined advocate who will never let his clients down. Well versed on the law and a seasoned and polished attorney.

— Peer 06/11/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-10 09:07:09

No description provided

— Peer 06/10/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-10 06:00:25

I have known Matt for over 25 years as a lawyer. This review gives me the oport unity to say something I feel very strongly about. That if one of my own children, who are all adults, were charged with a felony crime Matt is my choice for the attorney to represent them. Please keep in mind that I have been an criminal defense trial attorney for almost 31 years. Matt brings an incredibly high level of intensity to the concept of "advocate for the defendant". He is a "true believer".

— Peer 06/10/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-10 05:56:41

I have known Matt for over 25 years as a lawyer. This review gives me the oport unity to say something I feel very strongly about. That if one of my own children, who are all adults, were charged with a felony crime Matt is my choice for the attorney to represent them. Please keep in mind that I have been an criminal defense trial attorney for almost 31 years. Matt brings an incredibly high level of intensity to the concept of "advocate for the defendant". He is a "true believer".

— Peer 06/10/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-02 08:33:23

No description provided

— Peer 06/02/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-27 15:01:44

Kaestner is an excellent trial lawyer. He has a very thorough knowledge of criminal law, and he is a brilliant defense attorney.

— Peer 05/27/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-26 15:18:53

I was co-counsel with Mr. Kaestner in a jury trial in Bellflower, California. He is an excellent advocate for his clients.

— Peer 05/26/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-25 08:55:18

Matthew is a very fierce advocate for his clients

— Peer 05/25/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-01-17

Before contacting Kaestner I felt lost and was very depressed. I had gotten myself in a mess but knew that if I had the right person to fight for me I had a chance to really explain my case. Without getting into much detail Mr. Kaestner kept me calm through the whole process and was able to get my misdemeanor dismissed. My family and I can't thank him enough for what he did.

— Client 01/17/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2014-12-01

I'd like to give my thanks and deepest gratitude to criminal defense specialist, Matt Kaestner. I needed his services twice. Matt was highly recommended to me by my family law attorney. Matt obtained a dismissal of my first case due to his hard work and diligence. My second case went to trial and through Matt's dedication and detailed, heart felt, closing arguments, I was found Not Guilty. Matt made me feel like my case was his only priority and he gave my case his full undivided attention. I was very impressed with his insights and how focused he was on the things that he had to prove my innocence. I'm the sole provider for my family of five, and was terrified of possibly going to jail for something I didn't do. When going to criminal court, picking your attorney is crucial. Matt looks the part, knows the law, and worked to know my situation and my feelings. I was able to go into court feeling safe with Matt on my side. I highly recommended him to anyone in need of a criminal defense attorney. My family and I truly appreciate what he did for us. Matt has given us back our peace of mind and has allowed us to get back to our normal life!

— Client 12/01/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-06-12

I was charged with battery and vandalism. The charges were bogus, but the DA would not drop them. The case went to trial and the on the first day, Kaestner was able to convince the DA to drop all charges. I'm confident I would not have gotten the same results with a public defender; you've got to have somebody who's 100% on your side and will fight for you like a bulldog. Matthew did just that for me. I'd definitely recommend contacting him if you're in the unfortunate situation of facing charges in Long Beach.

— Client 06/12/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-03-21

What can you say about needing a Criminal Attorney? 45 Years old and I had never even given it a thought. Completely overwhelmed, terrified, and at a total loss, I had no idea where to even start. So Google it was. I spoke with many on the phone and made five appointments for consultations to screen the finalists. After my fourth meeting I was still a mess. No one I had met with really seemed to care it was more of a "show me the money" conversation. I still didn't understand the process or what my options were. Thank heaven I didn't just jump at the chance to work with the first person that sounded like they knew what they were talking about. The fifth meeting was with Matt Kaestner, Certified Criminal Specialist. First of all if you want a stuffy, droll, powdered wig esquire, this isn't the guy for you. He took the time to really talk with me and understand my unique situation. He gave me great advice, calmed my decidedly frazzled nerves and when it came down to necessity, I paid him. It was worth every penny. Do not trust the system to do the right thing. It doesn't. It's an endless, confusing, backward numbers game, and you won't get through it with stellar results without top notch representation and a sense of humor. Mr. Kaestner gets you both. I never could have gotten through it without him. He's a bulldog with a heart and my outcome was great, my life goes on and while I will never need to hire him again, I would not hesitate to refer anyone to him. Call him, talk to him and then hire him. You won't be sorry. I am telling you. Worth. Every. Penny.

— Client 03/21/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-01-27

Kaestner is solid. {para}I had an interstate ammunitions charge against me. I travel often, just happened to forget to remove for the first time in 20 years of owing and traveling. I did it at LBC airport none-the-less; messy. {para}The city was going for me, wanted to leave me with months of community service and an ammunitions smuggling charge on my record, plus fines! Can you imaging getting pulled over for a traffic ticket, and you have that on your record?! Or every time a cop runs your license plate, they see "Ammunitions Smuggling" on your record!? Ouch! The facts against me were clearly not good, as I was caught in clear possession.{para}Mr. Kaestner pressed for trial, understanding I was innocent, my intent was innocent, and then got the case dismissed! The DA's team recognized Mr. Kaestner's argument was convincing. Thus, resulting in my complete innocence, and satisfaction; and costing a lot less than having that charge on my record! CASE DISSMISSED!{para}Don't regret it, call Kaestner!

— Client 01/27/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2013-10-11

No description provided

— Client 10/11/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-10-09

In my case, I was aggressively pulled by an officer out of a private residence for telling him he could not enter a party. I was charged with both Obstruction of Justice, and Drunk in Public, two misdemeanors in all. Having never before dealt with the legal system , I was extremely nervous and intimidated. But after one call to Mr. Kaestner, he made me feel very comfortable and confident that we could handle this case in a timely and affordable manner. And that is exactly what happened! After a

— Client 10/09/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-10-09

In my case, I was aggressively pulled by an officer out of a private residence for telling him he could not enter a party. I was charged with both Obstruction of Justice, and Drunk in Public, two misdemeanors in all. Having never before dealt with the legal system , I was extremely nervous and intimidated. But after one call to Mr. Kaestner, he made me feel very comfortable and confident that we could handle this case in a timely and affordable manner. And that is exactly what happened! After a quick meeting with him, I never had to step foot into court again. He regularly called me throughout the process with positive updates, and made sure I was well aware of all that was happening. The end result was BOTH charges being dropped without ever having to go to trial. Very professional, has a great sense of humor, and definitely a contact I will be holding on to. I've referred him to friends and family, and encourage anyone in the Long Beach area to use him without hesitation.

— Client 10/09/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-07-18

Matt Kaestner is the most hard-working tenacious criminal defense attorney I know with a high record of success. He is charming and polite to all the court staff, and juries seem to relate to him. He writes extremely well, and will burn the midnight oil in order to procure the best results for his clients. He's a winner and does it with grace and charm. I would entrust Matt Kaestner with any criminal defense case. You can't do better than Matt and his proven record of success in difficult cases speaks for itself.

— Client 07/18/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-20

I left the court today a free man I was looking at a four year sentence he got both felony counts dropped to nothing. Well worth every dollar. I would highly recommend his services. The first attorney that always answers his phone and returns calls.

— Client 02/20/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-02-05

. It became apparent that we needed some professional representation.We had never had any contact with an attorney , other than for estate planning. We got out the yellow pages, and more or less ,threw a dart.
Mr Kaestner turned out to be an excellent choice. He delivered exactly what he advertised that he would. In our particular situation that was that the charges were dropped, and no plea was ever entered. Good man, and a straight shooter.

— Client 02/05/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2013-01-31

Mr. Kaestner is absolutely amazing at what he does. From the moment you speak with him, you will know that you are in the hands of a talented, skilled professional who knows the law like the back of his hand. I was in an auto accident, and fled the scene where I was met at my home with 7 police cars. I was cited for misdemeanor hit and run, driving with NO insurance, and a failure to yield. Not only did he get the civil compromise, but he got the other 2 charges completely dropped.

— Client 01/31/2013

5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-23

I would highly recommend Mr. Kaestner, he was very professional carrying the case, he was always on top of everything, even thought he is a very busy attorney, he always answered any questions me, or my family would have, and if not available, he would return calls back during the whole process. He really knows what he is doing. Wish you the very best!

— Client 06/23/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-06-09

Mathew Kaestner has been my attorney for the past 4 years. I have had two cases with Mr. kaestner and had superior dedication and hard work on his behalf with great results do to his know how of our judicial system and especially the courts of Long Beach. His due diligence and commanding power of the law has made my life a lot easier thanks to him! I cant tell you how important it is to have a fighter on your team when it comes to our court system, i definitely recommend him he will fight for u!

— Client 06/09/2011

4.2 / 5.0
2016-06-03 09:22:57

No description provided

— Peer 06/03/2016

4.0 / 5.0
2009-09-21

No description provided

— Client 09/21/2009

3.2 / 5.0
2014-12-12 14:25:59

No description provided

— Peer 12/12/2014